Georgetown was incorporated in 1838. The first settlers arrived here in 1639, led by Reverend Ezekial Rogers. Georgetown was originally part of Rowley and was know as the West Parish or New Rowley. The first permanent residents were John and Elizabeth Scott Spofford who leased a farm in the area that eventually became known as Spofford’s Hill. Before John Spofford settled here, young Samuel Brocklebank would bring cattle during the summer months to be penned near the brook referred to as Pen Brook also known as Penn Brook; a name it retains to this day.
For more historical information go to: Official Town of Georgetown Home Page
The Town of Georgetown is located in northern Essex County, between the Merrimack River Valley and the communities bordering Plum Island Sound. Still widely forested, with many acres of state forest land, the town features small town rural living within reach of employment centers via Route 95 and 97 to 495, and a location handy to nearby seaport, recreational areas, New Hampshire and Maine. While the town has industrial development areas still available adjacent to Route 95, it also boasts a small downtown, which includes a thriving antiques center, an organ manufacturing company and a supermarket. The town also has an expanding public golf and country club. The town’s residents organize an annual Georgetown Days celebration during the weekend proceeding the Fourth of July, including food, crafts, rides, entertainment and fireworks for the whole family.